Австралийская Ф3

14.04.2020 23:32

Историческая справка, обзор 2018 года, расклад на новый сезон



Bathurst 12 Hours class winner Harri Jones marked his first season in F3 with a title for Jones Racing. The Australian made his F3 debut in the final round last year, winning a race, and built up experience in the MRF Challenge over the winter.

Challenging Jones the whole year was Cameron Shields, a former National class champion and a Formula 4 frontrunner. Shields narrowly beat Jones to pole and the first won of the year at Winton, he looked to repeat the feat in race two before slipping on oil, but a win in the third race meant he left with the championship lead.

Shields took pole again at Queensland, but was jumped by Jones at the start of the first race, which decided the winner. A startline incident involving Shields’ Gilmour Racing team-mate Chris Gilmour and Jones granted Shields victory, and in the final race a near-miss lapping traffic didn’t stop Jones from pushing Shields right to the chequered flag.

Jones took his first pole at Morgan Park, and he took an easy win after Shields stalled. He fought back to third behind National class driver Richard Peasey, setting the lap record on the way. Shields was the victim of traffic next time round, handing Jones victory in the damp. Wetter conditions in the final race played back into Shields favour.

At Sydney Motorsport Park, Jones took pole again, and moved into the championship lead with a triple victory. It wasn’t easy though, with an extra threat coming from R-Tek Motorsport’s John Magro, a two-time runner-up in the championship.

Wakefield Park’s qualifying session was the closest of the season, with just a tenth separating Jones and Shields. The races were completely different, with Jones dominating. His points lead heading to The Bend, a new addition to the calendar, was only marginal though.

Shields made history by taking pole there, but couldn’t hold on in the first race after being bettered by Jones at the start. He set the circuit’s outright lap record, but couldn’t match Jones’s start again in race two, leaving him 10 points down for the finale. A seventh win of the season wasn’t enough to steal the title, and Jones became the 20th Australian F3 champion. Roman Krumis, aged 62, took his second consecutive National class title.